Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Liberty Seamstress

I’m not sure how many of you know it, but I am also a historical costumer. I just recently updated my website, so I thought I would share it here, as well. Liberty Seamstress is my historical costuming business.

My love of sewing combines beautifully with my love of art, my love of history, and my practicality when it comes to costuming. Our great-grandmothers did not have everything perfectly at hand when sewing–so I am not a perfectionist in this, either. I will make up my own patterns and I quite readily think outside the pattern cover. Yet, that being said, I do not take the authenticity part of historical costuming lightly. The general overall appearance and sillhouette are as important to me as the details–after all, a fairly plain outfit with the correct draping will actually look and feel more accurate than a highly decorated assemblage in the perfect fabric, yet with a modern cut. The study of contemporary artwork and photographs are one of the most essential aspects of my costuming.

Indeed, I find costuming a delight!

