Tags

, , , , , , ,

037 (1024x576)

“Jesus answered him, ‘If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.'” ~John 14:23

What a rich verse! The unity and fellowship of the Triune God dwelling in the heart of a believer! This is indeed the truest definition of all that is wonderful in the word, “home.”

I have always thought that where my immediate family is, there is my home. It doesn’t matter if the setting is a camper, a tent, or a house of our own; for is it not the people, instead of the location, that truly makes anywhere really “home”? That understanding has had to change just a bit for me in the past year or so because it has become necessary for my immediate family to be separated by many miles. For this reason, “home” can sometimes seem like a slightly elusive concept at the present hour. Regardless of that, I haven’t really had a case of the “homesickness” because I have maintained communication with my family–and communication is so very much of what draws people together and makes home “home.” 

“For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ. For in one Spirit we were all baptized into one body–Jews or Greeks, slaves or free–and all were made to drink of one Spirit.” ~I Corinthians 12:12-13

Additionally, in the past few years I have come to see that the people of God are also, in a way, family, being fellow members of the body of Christ. Therefore, where the people of God are, there I also may perhaps have a little taste of the unity and fellowship of “home.” I praise the Lord that I am one who is very blessed to have my own blood family as my spiritual family, as well.

“Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us.” ~Psalms 62:8

But there is one thing that is greater even than these things: that is that God is my home in an ultimate sense. When I think of God as my home, I am reminded that, just as conversation takes place during daily life among the members of a family, binding them together in communication, even so our prayers should be often lifted to our God. As throughout the day we speak with one another of everything–whether of the mundane business of cleaning up, or of the large things looming on the horizons of our futures, or of the dreams near and dear to our hearts–even so we should all be familiar with God as with our Father, speaking to him often and of everything within our hearts and minds. For in this he is pleased–and in this we are also brought nearer to him. In this way, we dwell, as it were, within the very house of God. And that is the believer’s final hope, final rest, and final home–what a blessing to even now have a foretaste of that here in our own families, in our own churches, and our own walk with the Lord….

“How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD of hosts! My soul longs, yes, even faints, for the courts of the LORD…” ~Psalms 84:1-2

