Tags

, , , , , , ,

083 (1024x768)

A cousin of mine wrote this poem. When I asked him if I could post it on my blog, he granted permission only with the stipulation that I do not give his name…

I love this–it is so beautiful! I love the Trinitarian nature of the hymn–I love the multi-generational outlook of the prayer–I love the simple faith that looks to Christ as the way to the Father, the way to life, the way to peace…I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

God of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob,
Father, Son and Holy Spirit
One God while yet three.
Help us all to please Thee
And help our children know Thee.
Teach us all upon thy knee
That only Jesus leads to Thee.

Almighty God through this present strife
Only your love gives us life.
Help us see what lies ahead:
What to embrace and what to dread
From our birth to eternity, never let us leave Thee.
Teach us all upon Thy knee
That only Jesus leads to Thee.

As we and our children learn and grow
Almighty God please help us know
That in this creation this is so:
You, Father, Son and Holy Spirit are One
You, our God are the Eternal One.
Teach us all upon Thy knee
That only Jesus leads to Thee

Oh Holy and Eternal One, grandchildren come
Before their lives here are done
Please cause them like us to know Thy Son;
That You and He are more than Love:
You are omnipotent from above.
Teach us all upon The knee
That only Jesus leads to Thee

And now O Holy Trinity as we approach eternity
Help us and me to heed Thee
Now Holy One please help us all Thy will to see
That from Thy knee we’ve learned – one and all
That You, Father, Jesus and the Spirit are One
Help us answer Thy simple call
And to be with You when this life is done.

