Tags

, , , , , , ,

Just a little story today…I had a half a package of shrimp in the freezer this morning and knew that I was going to have shrimp for lunch–what can I do with that, I wonder?

******

So I look in the refridgerator…the last red bell pepper, an avocado, and the last cucumber catch my eye…but with shrimp? Let me see…

Ah! Yes! Slice an onion in the skillet with coconut oil and butter–toss in three stalks of chopped celery–and the shrimp, so they all cook together and won’t get too done…

While the frozen shrimp are sauteeing with the onion and celery, I am cutting up the red pepper and the avocado in a bowl…when the shrimp are pink, I pull them out and set them on a plate to cool. Then I dump the hot onions and celery and the leftover oil in the bowl on top of the pepper and avocado chunks.

Then I cut the cucumber into strips to go on the side, while I wait for the shrimp to cool…

As soon as I can get my fingers on them, I begin peeling the shrimp. I break them in half as I add them to the bowl with the vegetable mixture. Then I sprinkle on a dash (or three!) of sea salt and squeeze half a lemon over the bowl. I mix it up and serve it with leftover carrots, peas, and brussels sprouts…a yummy meal….

******

For those of you who like receipes to look like lists, here you are! (Personally, receipes confuse me…)

1/4 lb of frozen shrimp
1 red bell pepper
1 avocado
1 onion
3 stalks of celery
plenty of coconut oil and/butter
 

Sautee celery and onion and shrimp in coconut oil–just until shrimp are done. Cut up pepper and avocado in bowl. Peel shrimp and add onion and celery and oil to bowl. Add shrimp. Salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with juice of half a lemon. Enjoy!

