Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This hymn is very valuable in describing for us just what our baptisms signify. Until we really learn what it means to be a child of the God of the Covenant of Grace, our Christian walk will be dull and lusterless, not filled with the joy of the Lord. Because this hymn so beautifully describes what it is to be in true covenant with God, I wanted to share it with you all today.

I found this powerful hymn a few summers ago when it was one of the songs I was practicing for the next week’s church service. It struck me immediately as as beautiful description of what ought to be the true response of a Christian when considering what it means to take the name of the Trinue God in baptism. I was also drawn to the flowing seventeenth century tune with which it is paired in the green Trinity Hymnal. Even though the words were written in the eighteenth century, it seems to me that when they are put together with this tune, this song has the strong sound of the hymns of the Reformation.

Baptized into your name most holy,

O Father, Son, and Holy Ghost,

I claim a place, though weak and lowly,

Among your seed, your chosen host.

Buried with Christ and dead to sin:

Your Spirit e’er shall live within.

 

My loving Father, me you’ve taken

Fore’er to be your child and heir;

My faithful Savior, me you’ve given

Your righteous, holy life to share;

O Holy Spirit, you will be

A comfort, guide, and help to me.

 

And I have vowed to fear and love you,

And to obey you, Lord, alone;

Because the Holy Spirit moved me,

I dared to pledge myself your own,

Renouncing sin to keep the faith

And war with evil unto death.

 

My faithful God, your Word fails never,

Your cov’nant surely will abide;

Oh, cast me not away forever,

Should I transgress it on my side!

Though I have oft my soul defiled,

In love forgive, restore your child.

 

Yes, all I am and love most dearly

I offer now, O Lord, to you.

Oh, let me make my vows sincerely,

And what I say, help me to do.

Let naught within me, naught I own,

Serve any will but yours alone.

 

And never let my purpose falter,

O Father, Son, and Holy Ghost,

But keep me faithful to your altar,

Til you shall call me from my post.

So unto you I live and die

And praise you evermore on high.

 

Johann J. Rambach, 1723

Tr. By Catherine Winkworth, 1863

Rev. in Lutheran Book of Worship, 1978; alt. 1990

Tune NEUMARK 9.8.9.8.8.8.

Georg Neumark, 1657

