Tags

, , , , ,

Woman in Rainstorm with Umbrella

There is a saying in our house, “When it rains, it pours.”

This is not in reference to precipitation.

This is in reference to life.

Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring.” Proverbs 27:1

******

Sometimes it may be good news…

Sometimes it may be bad news…

Sometimes it may be the weather…

Sometimes it may be a phone call…

Sometimes an unexpected turn of events drives you out of the house when you really wanted to stay in and get something in particular done…yet strangely, when you aren’t so sure what you’re doing–and may even be hoping for one of those surprises to send you out–you end up wasting your time when you could have gotten something more valuable accomplished if you had set your priorities straight…

In our home and household, these drastic changes to plan hardly ever come singly–or even in pairs. Often, there is a torrent of “you never know, do you?” moments interspersed among periods of relative normalcy. Hence, our saying, “When it rains, it pours around here….”

******

Come now, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and make a profit’–yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, ‘If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.'” James 4:13-15

Some people don’t like it when they hear people use the phrase, “God willing,” or “if the Lord wills,” etc. But I use these types of phrases purposefully, because I myself know that it is he who shapes my life. I lay my plans; he alters them to suit his purposes. I may be unwilling at the time, but never has he harmed me by changing my plans–even when these things hurt, the changes have always turned out to have been for good for me.

******

So, all that was to say that you never know in the morning what will happen before the day is out, before–or even if–you will snuggle back down into bed…

At least, I don’t know…

